• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

PTO on a NP242 & front Receiver Hitch

pslink

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Everyone;

I'm a newbie, so please forgive If this has been asked in advance..
I am wondering if it is possible to mount a PTO on a NP242, If so any info would be appreciated. Also, I have a 91 XJ limited with a Waag grill guard, and OEM tow hooks, I am looking to put a front receiver on it but the DrawTite looks to be a tite fit... Anyway I'm wondering if anyone has ideas about the Hidden HItch? I'm trying to keep the bumpers stock for the time being, until I get more miles on it. Most of the time I just wander the wild, not much rockcrawlin.

TIA

As far as I know, no one makes a PTO for a NP242. Did you want it to run a winch? Mile Marker makes a hydraulic one that runs off of your power steering pump and everyone makes an electric one. I’m pretty sure that the Draw Tite and Hidden Hitch front receivers use the factory tow hook locations to tie into the frame, basically you can’t use factory tow hooks with them.

Not real sure how factory tow hooks mount.But the hitches,for the front bolt to the sway bar mounts and a drilled hole in the end of the frame rail.
No way to run a PTO out of a 242 box.
Wayne

The front output on a 242 transfer case only operates in 4WD, there is no "front only" position, so a power take-off isn't a very viable option.