• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Vibes in 4wd

Neil

NAXJA Forum User
Ok first the spec's 87 with 6.5" lift 242 t-case and a 2 year old front ds.

Now the problem, when I put it in 4wd I get some prety bad vibes at about 45 mph. Now I don't understand how it could be the drive shaft because it spins all the time. I get the vibes during accleration and decelaration. As soon as I put it back in 2wd it's gone. What's the dillio? TIA. Neil

First off ... I'm by no means an expert at this so forgive me if I post any bad info ...

I drive a '94 with a 231 TC on a 4.5" lift and have the same vibration symptons you're posting about. I am working on correcting them now.

My problem, though, started with several issues. I was geeting vibration in both 2WD and 4HWD. At that time, I had a severly worn out axle hub on the passenger side that was giving me vibration. I replaced it and the axle U-Joint and got rid of a lot of vibes, but still had some vibration.

I removed the front drive shaft and found a U-Joint that, was not bad, but it did not rotate smoothly. I replaced it because of this and because it was a sealed joint. I checked the shaft for damage and DC joint and they seemed to be in very good shape. After doing this, however, It did not improve the vibes, but I do think I've isolated the problem with the front drive shaft. If all else fails, I'm going to pull it off and have it checked at a Drive Shaft Repair shop.

I did a "search" on this forum (which I find very helpful) and saw a post to check the transfer case fluid level. Well ... dumba$$ me let it get way too low. I brought it up to level and it made some (~) improvement.