• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cherokee Axle Question

branz1029

NAXJA Forum User
Noticed a lot of people building their XJ's using the stock dana30 front axle. I'm new to the jeep world but looking to build my xj to be able to handle moderate 4wheeling. Looking for recommendations on a front and rear axle build. Not looking to really but the wallet but definitely looking to beef up my suspension. Is there any websites that sell direct fitment axles or are the dana30's perfect for the xj platforms??

D30 is a pretty good axle. It's light, cheap, abundant, it's already under your jeep and it has tons of aftermarket support. from what I've seen, as long as you don't run into shit at speed, it'll hold up.

D30 high pinon = good, especially if moderate is as bad as you're gonna beat it.
D30 low pinon (00-01 only) = less good, ok for moderate wheeling with low lift

D35 rear = bad. Replace with a D44, Chrysler 8.25, or ford 8.8

what's the definition of "moderate"

buy an XJ with a D30/8.25
put lockers in them
go wheeling.

mtbxj87 said:
D30 is a pretty good axle....
IslanderOffRoad said:
D30 high pinon = good, especially if moderate is as bad as you're gonna beat it.
D30 low pinon (00-01 only) = less good, ok for moderate wheeling with low lift

D35 rear = bad. Replace with a D44, Chrysler 8.25, or ford 8.8
I've heard this several times. And the obvious opposite about a D35. D30 = good, D35 = bad, but they're almost the same axle in strength and size. I've heard of a few D35 failing but everybody I know has broken an axle/u-joint on a D30. The D30 is crap just the same as the D35. Either can be "built" and there's nothing you can do to strengthen the ring/pinion. IMO they're the same.