• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Noob here- 1998 Jeep Cherokee lift options

Estevo

NAXJA Forum User
Hello guys, I'm new here and I'm going to guess this is one of the most frequently asked questions in the history of this forum but here it goes.

I recently purchased a 1998 XJ, 2x4 and I"m looking to get a lift kit. Because of budget, I am looking at a Skyjacker 3" lift or a 3" Rough Country kit.

Which is the one y'all recommend and why?

I'd love to read your opinions. please.:wave:

The problem with any budget lift kit is they don't replace your old worn out parts, just lift the jeep and give the worn stuff more room to play.

With either kit, are they replacing your leaf springs or adding a leaf to them?

Hello guys, I'm new here and I'm going to guess this is one of the most frequently asked questions in the history of this forum but here it goes.

I recently purchased a 1998 XJ, 2x4 and I"m looking to get a lift kit. Because of budget, I am looking at a Skyjacker 3" lift or a 3" Rough Country kit.

Which is the one y'all recommend and why?

I'd love to read your opinions. please.:wave:

If you are looking at buying Skyjacker you are not on much of a budget! Much cheaper options out there.

Listen to Cal and make sure you get a lift with full coils and leaf packs at the very least. If you want the clearance and are just pavement pounding this thing then look into OME lifts.

Last edited:
Thanks guys, the kits I'm looking at come with new spring leaves not just adding a leaf. Both kits are on Amazon for 300-345

Thanks for the tip on the OME lifts.

If you are looking at buying Skyjacker you are not on much of a budget! Much cheaper options out there.