• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Setting up differentials

md21722

NAXJA Forum User
I found a bum carrier bearing on my HP 30. And with the roughness in the pinion on my JY 27-spline 8.25, I am likely to rebuild my factory original 29-spline LSD.

I have read over several months many articles and write ups on doing this work and frankly it does not scare me. But I have never done it before. From what I can tell, all you need a few special tools, patience, and a good supply of beer and cigarettes. :cheers: :smoker:

At this point I am not looking to re-gear or install lockers, though the thought has crossed my mind many times to buy ARB lockers and 4.10's. Options are limited for the 8.25 and I am not interested in any lockers I can't manually control. Because I have never worked on diff before, I think it makes sense to do it with what I have the first time around and consider re-gearing and adding lockers later, possibly to my other XJ which I am eyeing for a lift as well, but remains stock.

To replace carrier bearings on the HP30, it looks like no shim changes may be necessary, but it is wise to check the backlash and plan for it if needed. The differential currently comes out with a little persuasion but a case spread is not needed. I am not even sure if it is worth changing ALL the bearings because one carrier bearing is fine, pinion is smooth, and seal does not leak. Any thoughts? It seems like carrier setup bearings may not be needed given the circumstances.