• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

First Timer Build

KBeast666

NAXJA Forum User
Hi guys, I'm new to the forum and new to off-roading, but I've been an auto tech for 10 years the first 3 working at a Dodge dealership. I've wrenched on Jeeps before but I just bought my first a few weeks ago after years of wanting one. It's a 1998 Cherokee Classic 4.0L Auto w/ 179k on it.

I've been reading up on tech articles in magazines and reading/searching the forums for a while now, but I wanted a few opinions on my build before I pull the trigger on buying parts. Like most I want to keep it relatively inexpensive, but I'm willing to spend the money (within reason of course) if it's worth it. I want it to be daily driveable (I have another car as a daily driver) and capable off-road (I guess you could call it an expedition style build). The first 5 upgrades I listed below I will be trying to do all in one shot within the next few weeks, the rest will come as my budget allows. Anything you would change?

1) Rubicon Express 4.5" Super Flex Lift Kit w/ Mono Tube shocks (more than I wanted to spend originally, but seems like the best value overall from what I've read)
2) Pro Comp 7069 15x8 wheels (I prefer the look and the lighter weight over steel wheels)
3) 33x12.5x15 tires - (Hard to decide what to get since it seems like reviews for the same tires are night and day between 2 people)
- General Grabber AT2?
- Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac?
- Pro Comp Xtreme AT?
- Dick Cepek Fun Country or Mud Country?
- Any other suggestions?
4) Trim Fenders to fit 33's (Will probably add Bushwacker Flares later)
5) SYE and CV driveshaft (Rusty's has AA SYE and Tom Woods shaft for $480 - seems like a good deal, but I hear Rusty's has bad customer service)
6) Frame Stiffeners