• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Proper Oil for stock 4.0L xj

truckeejeeper

NAXJA Forum User
SO I'm doing a bunch of fluid changes, and I've been using mobil-1 synth 10-30w for about 5 years now in my 1991 5speed sport 4.0HO. I thought maybe I'd look into other oils and ending up spending last two hours reading about how they changed the oil formulas with the zinc levels and all this. All the threads were pretty old though, and I never found a decent conclusion to the debate. So I'm wondering, is the current Mobil 1 syth ok to use? Or what would be the best choice? Also, for the differentials (Dana 30, 8.25, no towing) is royal purple 75-90 ok? Sorry I know this is a raging debate but really just want a simple answer. Thanks y'all- TJ

Standard answer I give,,,, Its a Truck engine,,use truck oil.
10w-30 is the recommended oil for most situations.15w-40 Rotella T has a large following.
A GOOD filter is a must for proper oil pressure at idle and start-up>NO Fram.
Normal oil pressure for a hot engine at idle is 13 psi or >.(10w-30 oil)
I have 4 XJs in the driveway,allover 200,000.They get green jug Castrol 10w-30 or Rotella T 15w-40. Depending on the weather= thinner when its cold
My 96 w/375,000 still carries 20 psi hot idle.

10w30 syn is fine ... I use syn 5w40 (Castrol full Synthetic) up here ... I used to use 10w30 and 15w40 but wanted a quieter motor (lifters) which the 5w40 has delivered so far.

Used to run Dello, but have switched to Valvoline VR1.

Oil is oil, buy whatever is on sale. ZDDP is for high compression high performance motors.

Oils that cost extra, do not provide extra benefits in direct relation to their price.