• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Headlights wont shut off

Bjorn86

NAXJA Forum User
I pulled into the driveway the other night and turned off ignition. Pushed in knob to shut off the headlights and they wouldnt turn off. I messed around with it for a few minutes before turning the ignition back to "on", pushed knob in (lights went off) and then turned ignition to "off". Is this normal? Perhaps the headlight switch? If so, where is the switch located? I'm new to XJ's so any help is appreciated!

Are you sure you turned the lights off before you turned the ignition off?

My 01 will not turn off the headlights for a few minutes, if I shut the truck off first.

Yeah, at first I pulled into the driveway, put it in park, shut off the ignition and then pushed the knob in to turn off the lights and they just stayed on. I fiddled around for a few minutes and then turned the ignition back to on and pulled the knob back out, pushed it back in, the lights went off immediately, and then I turned the ignition off.

Probably the timer. They're known for doing that. Perhaps the OEM tech guys will be able to help better. I'll be moving this thread there.

My 1990 XJ Laredo has the headlight "sentry" feature. If you turn the ignition off before you turn the lights off it stays on so you can get into the house or whatever. The lights turn off after 90 seconds, I've timed it, 90 seconds on the nose. It may seem longer...or it may BE longer on other models. The 88 MJ Pioneer does not have the feature...or it's broken.

Turn lights off first, then ignition.

The 99 comes standard with headlight sentry, so if it didn't stay on it would be broken.