• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help! Jeep wont start

First and foremost, I’m not a mechanic and rarely touch a vehicle unless it’s to change the oil. I have a 2000, 4.0, auto XJ. The Jeep has power, but will not turn over. I haven’t had this problem before. I have 180,000 miles on the Jeep and it has always started and ran fine since I bought it a few years ago. I moved the shifter, jiggled the ignition key, etc. No luck! What could be my problem?

Does the starter engage and make the engine spin ?

Could I have a bad ignition switch?

Any clicking ?

If yes, you probably have a low voltage issue from:
leaving the lights on
a failing battery
a failing alternator
poor wire connections or corroded wires

If no clicking, you probably have a Neutral Safety Switch (NSS) problem. It then needs to be cleaned or replaced and adjusted.

Read this -> http://www.boyandjeep.com/tech-articles/aw4-neutral-start-switch-rebuild

Could I have a bad ignition switch?

Possible, but the other issues are more common and more likely.

Any clicking ?

If yes, you probably have a low voltage issue from:
leaving the lights on
a failing battery
a failing alternator
poor wire connections or corroded wires

If no clicking, you probably have a Neutral Safety Switch (NSS) problem. It then needs to be cleaned or replaced and adjusted.

Read This -> http://www.boyandjeep.com/tech-articles/aw4-neutral-start-switch-rebuild

Possible, but the other issues are more common and more likely.

No clicking sound. I thought the Jeep would still start in Neutral if it were the NSS, true or false?

I had the same problem with mine and it ended up being a sensor that bolts on up buy the flywheel. I dont remember the name of it. I changed about ten things out just trying to track down the problem. but its worth looking at.