• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Currie Steering nasty creaking/popping issues

rocknxj

NAXJA Forum User
Any of you Currie-heads out there experience a loud, disconcerting creaking sound from the driver's side of the Currie steering system? I've been running this steering upgrade for a couple of months and it started a horrible metallic creaking noise a few weeks ago. It is very obvious when the wheel is turned quickly from side to side. I've lubed the ball joints and even pulled it off the Jeep rotated the joints to make sure they had enough grease. Seems good from what I can tell. Noise comes from the driver's side but it's hard to pin point from the seat.

Suggestions? Sounds like it is going to fall off the Jeep. If you don't hear back from me, you can assume it has.

x2. i would check for other worn items such as the trackbar at the frame end. i also run the RE extreme duty and it needs to be tightened pretty often. maybe even needs new plastic races. P/N RE3798

I first highly recommend checking the frame around the steering box to make sure you don't have cracks. Remove the sway bar frame bracket and check under there for cracks because when I removed mine I had a huge crack running from side to side on the underside of the frame where the metal had completely split. After seeing that I quickly went about getting the frame welded up and put on a c-rok frame re-enforcement kit on. But also check your track bar mount bolts and tighten them if needed and check your bushings at the axle end.

Check your steering box spacer/bolts.

My currie system is silent, perfect, flawless. My currie joints on my RC long arms are silent, perfect, flawless.

It's something else, gotta be.