• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

No fuel

DeadJeep

NAXJA Forum User
Hi. Newbie here. I've got a real problem. I have a 91 Cherokee with the 4.1 six and installed two new fuel pumps in one month. Between the time I discovered the old one was no longer working, (six months ago,) and the time I got around to replacing it, all I did was power wash under the hood. NOTHING else has been touched since it was once running a-ok.

Changed the pump. turned on the key. Heard it run for a couple of seconds, but then found out, (long story short,) the coil was bad. Replaced the coil and now when using starting fluid, it fires right up. But, no fuel pump.

No pressure. It's not working. The plug that goes to the pump has a red, black and tan wires. The tan wire has 6.9 volts with the key on. The red does not show power.

I finally gave up and pulled the fuel pump back out, (the one I replaced one month ago,) only to see the rubber at the ends of the pump was bloated and had grown out of their position. Weird how that rubber did that in such a short time. But, and new pump 3 days ago and nothing.....

I've swapped ALL of the relays into the fuel pump relay position. Nothing.
I've used a paper clip to jump across the relay terminals. Nothing.

Again, don't forget, it starts fine on ether. I have no fuel pump working.

Any help?

thanks
Bruce
So. Cal.
909-844-1081

might check to see you are geting voltage to the relay contacts, also check the coil of the relay to verify that the coil is geting the signal to close the contacts also make sure you have a good ground to the fuel pump.

I am going to ask a couple of simple questions to make sure I understand what you are saying. How do you know you are not getting fuel pressure? Did you check it at the Schraeder valve? You were not explicit.