• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

RE 3.5" install, what else do I need?

xjstock++

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to the XJ world - I recently acquired a 2001 4.0 auto w/ C8.25's & I'm going to order & install a RE 3.5" super-flex kit (full spring packs). The guys at RE said I'll need either 2 degree shims & a T-case drop kit or 4 degree shims and a SYE kit & CV driveshaft. I'm leaning towards the SYE/CV solution.

Any advice on which SYE/CV kit I should order? I'd like to keep it pretty simple: I'm a change my own oil and work on my own brakes kind of home mechanic.

Also, RE said they recommend rear shocks that compress 14.5-24.5" and front shocks that compress 15.5-16.5". I'm leaning towards the OME long travel shocks, will the fit the bill? Any other advice?

I would get Bilsteins over OME's. IMHO they ride better (and look better too). Depending on the shock you'll save some cash if you go with the Bilsteins. A 5125 or 5150 would do fine for you.

Basically all SYE kits are the same so i'd just buy from the cheapest and most reliable place. When you install the SYE you'll need a new rear driveshaft but a front driveshaft from a cherokee with an automatic will work perfectly and save you about $200 in the long run.

you may want to look into upgrading from the stock trackbar. theres mainly two types of SYEs: the hack n taps (cheaper), or the full SYE kits. RE makes a HnT if i recall correctly, or some good full SYE kits are Advance adapters or JBconversions. i remember seeing one kit that did a combo with a TomWoods driveshaft for a decent price, dont remember the vendor though

Last edited: