• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How does my gear pattern look, opinions please.

jeepboy381

NAXJA Forum User
Here is what I came up with on my rear 44, backlash is .007 and the range is .005-.010 . I have never done this before so tell me if it looks okay or not.

downsized_0128000119.jpg

DRIVE SIDE OF GEAR

downsized_0128000056.jpg

COAST SIDE OF GEAR.

These are the only pictures I could get tonight with my camera phone, if you need better pictures I will use my real camera in the morning. Guess it already is the morning!

Last edited:
First a disclaimer...

I have zero experience installing gears.

With that said, looks pretty decent, drive side of gear is a little close to the toe (pinion deeper than it should be) and the coast side is a little close to the heel (pinion not as deep as it should be.) Not sure what that means... but the pattern looks slightly too close to the top, should be more toward the root, so maybe you need to add more shims to the carrier on the side with the ring gear bolts and take some off of the side facing the ring gear teeth?

EDIT:

http://www.drivetrain.com/parts_cat...ing_and_pinion_installation_instructions.html

From this page, it looks like you need to decrease the pinion depth / use thinner pinion shims. Guess I was wrong after all...

Last edited:
It looks to me like I need to decrease pinion depth a little more like kastein said so that is what I will try tonight. Any other opinions?

Bigger pics would help. :)

Looking at your coast side --- you need a little more shimming of the pinion . I would say another .003 or so in shim should get you were you want to be. However, when I look at the drive side ....the pattern looks good (depth wise). But I'm judging against a semi small picture.