• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

wrecked cherokee?

JeremyKS

NAXJA Forum User
Im looking to buy a cherokee that has been wrecked. It has front end damage and the guy says that it will need a new front clip. Looks like it got pretty much everything from the doors forward. Its still driveable the way it is. Its a 2000 with a brand new 4.5 inch lift and tires on rock crawler rims. Im pretty new to these cherokees but its a real nice jeep besides the wrecked front end. Any ideas on how much this would cost to fix? is it worth the hassle?

Well, looking at buying everything new, fenders 110 each, hood $200, and grill lights and all of that good stuff prolly another 100. If bought form a junkyard, you could probably get everything for a couple hundred. You might also want to check the radiator and fans for any damage also. How much is he askin for it? Just curious.
Scott

I would also make sure there's no damage to the frame. Or w/e it's called...I'm sure someone will nag on me since it's a unibody...I don't know what it's called. Is it a chassis? Is it a frame? Is it a bird? Is it a plane? I dunno. Just make sure it's straight.

Uni-rail is what I heard it called.

But ya, I saw a 99 XJ before I bought mine that had a little fender damage. Didn’t buy it because of the damage, but if I knew then how much I was going to beat on my rig I would have gotten it.

I'd be very careful regarding a damaged frame in the front. The bumper on a stock XJ bolts directly to the end of the frame rails. It doesn't take much of a hit to the front to deform the front "horns".