• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Where's the *&^% clock?

dutchjeep

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, this one will do pretty well in the dumbest question of all time. I got no choice, just gotta ask. As my question will show I'm pretty new to the jeep experience.

The other day -- when I was driving in the dark -- I found that there's no clock in the jeep. I was suprised, didn't mind much, but did find it somewhat odd and inconvenient. Later, when I thought about it a little more, I couldn't imagine the car not having a clock. After all, mine is a limited edition and those are supposed to be about the top of the line (well, at least it was back in 1992, but they had clocks back then too, right?). Hell, it's even got an outside air temperature reading and a compass....there must be a *&^% clock.

I started googling and e-baying and found that clocks for the cherokee do exist and that they fit somewhere in the dash. Now, this afternoon I checked out my dash and the only place I can think of that could be a clock (or could hold one) is the spot between the main instrument panel and the radio. That about fits the size of those clocks I saw on e-bay. Now before I take my dash apart, can anyone tell me whether I should find a clock there and should check if it's still functional or are these not standard on the cherokee and should I just buy one and install it?

On my 92 it is on the radio. JIM.

your clock is between the radio and the instrument cluster. Take apart the panel cover and you'll find the clock. There's a little bulb in the back of the clock that burns out quite frequently. Dealer item, about $3.00, or get an aftermarket stereo that has a clock.

Your clock should be to the right of the instrument panel. However, the panel that holds the clock may also be a "blank" - with nothing at all.