• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Removing sensors to diagnose problem

idzentity

NAXJA Forum User
Hi Naxja,

I'm having an intermittent power loss issue with my xj that has gotten pretty bad this past few days, it feels like it's stalling, can be quite jerky, like it's fighting for fuel, air, or something. I suspect it's electrical as the issue is intermittent, but there's a number of issues it could be. I'm wanting to test if it's a sensor issue before moving on to other possibilities.

I'm not a mechanic by any modicum of imagination's stretch, but is there any reason why I couldn't unplug one sensor at a time to see if the power loss issue goes away? Would this help pinpoint a particular bad sensor causing my problem? For example, could I unplug my TPS and drive it to test? If so, which sensors could I do this to and still have it drive, and is there any sensor I couldn't do this with? I realise removing a sensor will cause the engine to maybe run rich/funny, but my thinking was if the power loss goes away, maybe that's a culprit.

Thank you advance for the help.

I doubt it would do much of anything besides maybe idle with the tps unplugged. Also the tps is your most likely culprit. Buy a cheap harbor freight analog multimeter with the needle and use one of the many tutorials online to guide you in testing it. A failing tps will cause all sorts of driving issues.

Listen to your Unclewolverine. There are not any sensors that might cause your drivability issues you can simply unplug to see if it's any better.

A multimeter and fuel pressure test gauge will help.

What year is it? Auto or 5sp? 4.0l or 2.5l ? Gas or diesel?

If it's '96 or newer, is the Check Engine light on?

Thank you very much for the replies.