• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Quiet Performance Muffler

xj-grin

NAXJA Member #1096
OK - I have a Flowmaster Delta 50. Love that its fully welded, love that its tough, love that it flows well -- I'm a cranky old bastard and I hate how loud it is... If I was street'n or strip'n, I wouldn't mind the growl, but in the woods and DD'ing, it really isn't my bag.

Who has a good recommendation for a good flowing, fairly inexpensive, but above all QUIET muffler???:speepin:

I am waiting for a pletora of "OEM" suggestions, but hoping for something more... :rattle:

Long glass pack FTW brutha. :thumbup:

Steel cased, small diameter, not a rock grabber, throaty sound, very little resonance.

I've put 'em on 2 of my rigs so far and like them WAY better than this damn Flowmaster that's on the '97 currently...... I can barely think much less hear my tunes over that damn Flowmaster.

hmmmm, tought to do "sound" on the internet -- when I read "throaty" I hear "loud".... although certainly I like the pricing on glasspacks...

I think the reason glass packs create less cabin noise is their straight through design. Noise out the pipe, not bouncing around in a rectangle chamber below the floor board. No, the glass pack isn't totally quiet in the cabin, but it's quite notably more quiet than the other performance mufflers.

If it wasn't for the mummy-like appearance, I'd try wrapping my Flowmaster in header wrap as a sound deadener...... but it would look totally stupid.

Stock mufflers flow fine. Everybody thinks a louder muffler makes more power- horse puckey. Unless you have a built motor with ported heads and high compression, it's all just noise.

I have a flowmaster 70 Suv, I think. It's been a few years. It has no cabin resonance.