• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Please help... (WARNING: I am not a MECHANIC)

I am not a mechanic, and have never claimed to be, but I realize I am needing to become one, because of my love affair I have with my 98...

That being said... The "check gauges" (and the battery gauge would show barely 9 amps) light starting coming about three weeks ago, and eventually stayed on until one day on the way home from work I lost my radio, then the next day it wouldn't start.

So I am assuming it's the alternator, right?

I looked under the beast that morning, and it looked pretty straight forward, after removing the battery... So today I set off the get the alternator off so I could go have it tested to see if it was any good.

But I am stuck. First of all the "adjusting bolt" doesn't do anything, so I can't even loosen up the Serpertine belt. And second of all, I got all the screws out of the alternator except the very bottom one. I don't have a garage, so I am working with all hand tools, maybe that's my problem. But for the life of me I can't get that bolt off. O, and how many screws are suppose to come off???

Is this the adjusting bolt? :confused:
32249_1335748792881_1205932212_30786869_8038122_n.jpg

This is the bottom bolt I can't get off... :gonnablow
32249_1335748872883_1205932212_30786870_4371319_n.jpg

I don't have the money to pay someone, and I really need my Jeep cause my wife teaches in Greeley, and I also have to cart my daughter around... Man, I am crying about this.

So anyway... would anyone be willing to help me attack this thing again next week or next weekend some time. All I could promise you is a rookie mechanic, some good beer, pizza, and a swimming pool. I am up here in Fort Collins, right off of College and Prospect...