• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Meter usage and basic electrical testing

joejeep92

NAXJA Forum User
I have seen lots of people recently posting on electrical issues with the idea of I’m new at this or am I doing this right as far as how to test or how to use their meter. I teach automotive technology so I teach a fresh group all eight ASE areas including automotive electricity and electronics every year and this is the info each of them pay good money to hear so hopefully it will help someone out. It is a long read and I apologize for grammatical errors because I kinda just sat down and wrote what spilled out of my head but if you are really bored maybe it will save you some money.
First off, to do effective electrical testing you have to have a good meter. Not going to debate brands with you but you need a good high impedance multi-meter as part of your basic tool kit. Let’s start with how your meter works. There are three major things your meter can be used to look for on your car or truck, amperage, voltage, and resistance.