• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Leaf Spring Confusion

99custom

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everyone. I rarely post here but mostly lurk around, however I need some help as I am having some real confusion on what parts to order. I have searched and searched and haven't found anyone posting about a similar situation.
I currently have a 2001 2dr xj with a 4.5 rough county add a leaf lift kit. I run 32's jk take offs. However I am not very happy with the way the truck sits or drives. I am a contractor by trade and I carry alot of tools in my trunk which makes the rear sag, which is understandable as the add a leafs cant handle the weight. So now I want to order a full leaf spring pack and Im not certain what to go with. I was thinking rubicon express, or iron rock off road, but I am open to all suggestions. This has been my though process on it. If I were to buy a 4.5 leaf spring, with my lift shackles, the rear would be lifted up over 5 inches, probably close to six, so with the weight that is always in the back of the rig, it would settle down some but still be too high. IF i bought a 3.5 leaf spring with the shackle the height may be right around the same, but may be too low. Also how will changing leaf springs affect my shocks. I am not to concerned because I plan to order bilstein 5100's but once again, not certain which ones to order as I dont know the collapsed length and things such as that. SO any idea on what I should do to get my truck to ride better and have a somewhat even stance, even if the rear is in the air a bit im ok with that, as long as its not sky high.
Thanks,
Mike :helpme: