• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Harbor Freight solar kits?

katuah

NAXJA Forum User
Hey, has anyone out there bought and used one of the Harbor Freight solar panel kits? The one that supposedly comes with an inverter and setup so you can plug stuff in?

My mom lives out in the boonies, and she has this old work shed way out back. I'd love to get electric out there to run some lights, small hand tools, etc, but it's a long way to have to try and run wires from the house. I was wondering if one of those kits would work fairly well? I am not an electrician, but I can mount some panels on a roof.

is this your wish http://www.harborfreight.com/45-watt-solar-panel-kit-90599.html
image_5687.jpg

Those panels will run small lights, and maybe cell phone/laptop chargers, but there is no way you can run hand tools off of one.

"Simply connect the solar panels to your own 12 volt DC storage battery, and then use at least a 300 watt power inverter (not included) to power your 120 volt AC appliances anywhere."

My first thought on this was "more cheap H/F crap" But almost all of the customer reviews were very positive.

Here's one:

"Great for a work shed! Review by Adam

(5 stars)

This is a cheep kit to add power to a place that you could use power for. I added it to my shed and I have a car stereo that stays on all the time usually all day. I also have a 400 watt inverter hooked up to it as well and it runs lights and the occasional use of power drills and Sarsaw and a bench grinder. I've modified the mounting brackets so it works on the roof and it has been there almost a year and a half and I sill get almost 2.63 amps @ 15 v DC! Which is almost 40 watts! Great value for money.

(Posted on 7/18/10)"