• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AX15 bad synchro? bad clutch or T.O.? Perplexed!

I"ve NEVER been able to downshift at ALL (in any way) on my AX-15 - someone once explained to me there was some sort of 'lock out' to prevent downshifting on the AX-15... which bummed me out a lot (cause i LOVE downshifting) but I got used to it pretty fast.

AX15's dont like being driven like a sports car MT, (its actually the jeep clutch) you can do it... it just involves a biyearly rebuild/resyncro.

PROTIP: Letting your transmission guy see your short throw shifter WILL result in higher invoice totals.

Could the clutch itself be worn out and slipping and making the noise, rivets scrapping the pressure plate?

Or a slipping clutch pack in the transfer case (wild guess, as I have little experience with them)

interesting possibility maybe...! hmmm but how to test that theory...?

How was the fluid?

In your situation, i wouldve dropped the fluid to a new oil pan, and re-used it. Worst case scenario youd find shavings, which would mean you will be rebuilding soon, why waste the fluid? As you mentioned, its expensive.

If it was your syncros, you wouldve found this:
njud34b.jpg

i found NOTHING in the fluid, weirdly... i was expecting at least a small amount of metal shavings from a transmission with 275k miles on it... if not a lot more. in some ways it would be more concerting to have gotten more...

Maybe they are long gone, you Mention not being able to downshift as long as you can remember, maybe the previous owner killed the syncros then ditched the evidence.

If you never could downshift... Something's wrong with that ax15... I can go from 80 to 10 mph thru 4 gears without a single grind or rev match.