• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

adjusting factory ring gear?

tombradford

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 1998 jeep grand cherokee. I noticed the bolts were broken on the ring gear. I removed the axles and popped out the gear assembly without modyifying the placement of the pinion(did not move it). I replaced the bolts, and checked for cracks and imperfections and wear. It looked good, so I reinstalled it. I though I was just putting back to factory stats, but instead I have a "gear clicking?" noise. It gets louder when I accelerate. It only seems to begin in 2nd gear. Can someone give me an idea or suggestion on what I can do?

I'm not a mechanic, so the more detailed the better for me to understand the answer. Thank you so much.

tombradford

Yes, the pinion gear looked fine. I've read the grand cherokee full-time 4x4 front diff. gears are adjusted with " thread nuts ?" inside diff. on outside of ring gear/ spider gear bearings. No shims for ring gear.
Again, I am not a mechanic. Does this help

tombradford

Front or rear diff? If rear, d35 or d44a? The d44a is very easily distinguishable as its center casting is made of aluminum.

If d44a, did you put the thick shims back in on the outside of the carrier bearing cups? What torque value did you use for the ring gear bolts?

front diff. d 44/d35 I am not sure, how would I tell. I tightened the ring gear bolts to approx.30-40psi. No shims were on outside of bearing cups.

Thank you for your help,

tom

Tom, in all honesty (and really, I'm not trying to be offensive,) you need to take it to someone who knows ring & pinion setups. You don't know what front diff you have, torque isn't measured in PSI, and at this point, I'm not even sure that I know which bolts you're referring to.