• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.8 axle tube welds

terrystasko

NAXJA Forum User
Just wondering if a few of you could give some advice?

I am welding the axle tubes to the pumpkin, and are unsure which technique would be better.

First two pics are of a single pass. It looks pretty, but does not attach alot of metal, (small surface area).

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n257/terrystasko/IMG_0046.jpg

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n257/terrystasko/IMG_0044.jpg

These pics are a double pass. Much uglier, but it connects a large surface area.

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n257/terrystasko/IMG_0043.jpg

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n257/terrystasko/IMG_0041.jpg

I am not a professional welder, so I'm interested in your opinions about which technique I should use.

Ive heard people-pre heat the area before they weld it and some do not and both say that it is good. What type of welder are your doing this with? By the first picture you gave the bead pattern is ok'is but you should slow down your arc pattern and stretch it out to the lip of the housing. I actually just bought a 1997 ford 8.8 disk brake rear end to swap into my jeep im just waiting on the install kit to come in the mail.

Last edited:
Just wondering if a few of you could give some advice?

I am welding the axle tubes to the pumpkin, and are unsure which technique would be better.

First two pics are of a single pass. It looks pretty, but does not attach alot of metal, (small surface area).

IMG_0046.jpg

IMG_0044.jpg

These pics are a double pass. Much uglier, but it connects a large surface area.

IMG_0043.jpg

IMG_0041.jpg

I am not a professional welder, so I'm interested in your opinions about which technique I should use.