NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > Modified Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

Modified Tech Discussion Forum for Tech related discussion for Modified XJ's and MJ's.

Old September 4th, 2016, 19:27
NAXJA Forum User

Are unibody stiffeners worth it?

I'm pretty new to owning a jeep, however I have been around jeeps my entire life with my dad's rigs. I have an 89 XJ Laredo with a Rough Country 4.5 Long Arm kit. I have been debating on the unibody stiffeners. Anybody have any experience using the stiffeners with this kit? I also am low on money and the install for these things looks pretty intensive in terms of how long it will take to weld. In the end, would I be okay without the stiffeners? The jeep is my daily driver and I really wheel only on the weekends, when I can. Also, rock sliders are one of my next purchases. Should I wait until after I get stiffeners? (If I do) Thanks guys.

Zach
Old September 4th, 2016, 20:46
Sarge

Re: Are unibody stiffeners worth it?

Short answer. Yes.

The first time I welded a set on my wife's cherokee we couldn't believe how much more solid it felt driving and how much quieter it got. Squeaks and rattles just magically disappeared. Not to mention the added peace of mind when dragging it over rock and flexing it hard.
Old September 5th, 2016, 06:16
NAXJA Forum User

If you ever wheel yes do stiffeners they aren't as bad as they look to do they are actually quite easy

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old September 5th, 2016, 07:27
NAXJA Forum User

unibody frames cant take much abuse w/o dents ,bending & cracks. so yes on stiffeners, best to do them first then put the sliders on them.
Old September 5th, 2016, 07:42
NAXJA Forum User

I doubt anyone here will tell you no. If you want the body to last, these should be at the top of your list.