• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2001 XJ build plan, input welcome

anthrax323

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everyone,

So I've been doing some reading on various projects and mods people have documented here, and I think I've finally come up with a game plan for my build... Please feel free to give input, as I'm still by no means an expert (but eager to learn).

The general goal here is an all-conditions, all-purpose daily driver and trail rig (no outright rock crawling though - I want to preserve the sheet metal on this one). Good road manners are absolutely key here as well... I prefer that my cars be pleasant to drive :p.

• Rubicon Express 3.5" Super-Ride lift w/ long-arm conversion
    I'm sure this will be an interesting conversation all its own, but I would like this thing to be "overengineered" to a certain extent and absolutely bullet-proof (I really don't want to mess with the control arms ever again after doing the lift, honestly). Additionally, the long-arm conversion would give me far more flexibility for additional lift later.

The added benefit of the RE crossmember is decent protection for the transfer case, which brings me to...
  • NV242 swap
    I know the pros and cons of the NP231 and NV242, as it's a pretty hot topic of debate apparently, but I personally would like full-time 4WD at my disposal. The SYE options for this case are limited, I know, but when it comes time to get the ball rolling I'll be ready to tackle that obstacle (I'd like to avoid a hack-and-tap setup, so I know this might get pricey).