• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What engine will mate to my XJ?

bigoltrux77

NAXJA Forum User
Im getting tired of my 2.5L and would like a power change. I was wondering what other engine will bolt directly to my AX-5 transmission without any modifications? if this isnt possible, what mods need to be done and how hard is it. Ive heard that chevy 3.1L and 3.4L's will bolt up easily. Cann someone please tell me what goes into doing this type of swap? Im not very experienced when it comes to this type of upgrade. How do i modify my mounts so i can mount a different engine in my compartment? Cooling? Etc Etc... I dont want to do alot of cutting or bending etc. Thanks alot.

btt

i guess nobody knows anything...interesting

You gave a whopping 146 minutes for anybody to find the answers to multiple questions that are likely covered pretty well by searching; I know I've seen a few threads recently dealing with 2.5L--> Chevy swaps, including commentary on 2.8L Try using variations on those terms in your search.

Engine Compatability