NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > OEM Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

OEM Tech Discussion Forum for OEM (Original Equipment) or stock XJs and MJs.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 29th, 2004, 05:42
HodgePodge's Avatar
HodgePodge HodgePodge is offline
NAXJA Member #987
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 222
Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

So.. There I was driving up a hill and all of a sudden the engine died. After rolling backwards to a stop, thank you tree, we cranked it again to get it started and it just cranked. No start! Then we troubleshot, no fuel pressure, checked voltage ~6volts at pump figured it was a dead pump because it didn't come on. Dropped tank, replace pump no go, so I get yanked out. Come to realize the problem was a 60% blown fusible link that created resistance on the line and dropped it to about 6 volts (87 pre-ballast resistor)

(Seemed too boring without a picture)

So we just cut out all the fusible links and wired them up and everything is working awesome. But I don't want to run it like this.

Now for the question, I'm looking for some information on replacing the links with a fuse block. Basically what do you think I should use amperage wise for fuses? I tried looking up information on what gauge the links were to cross reference the max amperage, but couldn't find anything.


Hodge
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 29th, 2004, 06:18
XJJPR XJJPR is offline
NAXJA Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: My jeep
Posts: 5,774
Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

I do believe the newer XJs are all on fuses and not fusable links. Might just check that out. I think there are 60 amp Maxi fuses used too.

hinkley
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 29th, 2004, 07:09
HodgePodge's Avatar
HodgePodge HodgePodge is offline
NAXJA Member #987
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 222
Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

Well here is what I get when I cross reference Fusible link color to Fuse using 88 and 2000 FSM:
Code:
                     Fusible link    '00 fuse amperage
PCM/Fuel Pump relay   ORG or GRN      15A
Head Light Switch     RED or GRN      30A
Fog Light Relay       GRN             15A
Latch Relay           ORG             None
Radiator Fan Relay    GRN             40A
Ignition Switch       GRN             40A
Alternator            BLUE            10 Gauge Fusible Link
I wish the old wiring diagram was as nice as the newer ones. Would be easier to find the amperage limitations of the wire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 29th, 2004, 08:10
Johnny V's Avatar
Johnny V Johnny V is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 339
Thumbs up Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

I too would like to know if there is an elegant...ah I mean cool way to install a fuse block and rewire the fuseable links. With-in the last four years my '89 Laredo has been towed five times to the garage because it would not start...and all the times it turn out to be blown out fuseable links. The garage installs in-line replacable fuse holders which is ok but I don't know how they figured out the amp rating and the wiring looks ugly. Would be nice to find fuse sizes and install a fuse block.

Last edited by Johnny V; December 29th, 2004 at 08:23.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 29th, 2004, 08:22
old_man's Avatar
old_man old_man is offline
NAXJA Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Posts: 15,382
Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

Here is the hidden problem. Fusable links are kind of the ultra slow version of a slow blow fuse. Normal fuses blow pretty quick when exposed to excessive current. Slow blow fuses will take the current for upwards to a minute depending on the type and rating. The fusable links take a far higher level of abuse before burning. The problem I have seen with fusable links is that they deteriorate over time. Water and battery acid fumes cause corrosion, which in turn limits their current carrying capacity. Vibration is also an enemy to the links. If you go with fuses, make very sure you have a ton of replacement fuses because you will most likely need them. Personally, when I swapped wiring harnesses, I bought good fusable link wires and rewired that portion of the circuit with soldered and sealed ends.
__________________
Tom Houston - Former Colorado Chapter President & Terminal Adrenaline Junkie
Loveland, Colorado
You're just jealous because the voices don't talk to you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 29th, 2004, 09:33
HodgePodge's Avatar
HodgePodge HodgePodge is offline
NAXJA Member #987
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 222
Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

Johnny v: I'm looking at getting the hella Relay block to throw my relays in and clean it up. I was also looking at their fuse block, fairly reasonable price, and waterproof/splashproof.http://www.hella.com/produktion/Hell.../ElecProd2.pdf

Old_man: I will be taking in the 1.5 rule. Take the max amperage of the wire and multiply it by 1.5, as most electrical components have a short startup amperage higher than they are labeled. This should help with those issues I hope.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 29th, 2004, 13:21
old_man's Avatar
old_man old_man is offline
NAXJA Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Posts: 15,382
Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

Sounds like a plan, just see if you can get a slow blow type of fuse. Don't even know if they are available in the plug in types.

http://www.partsexpress.com has a good selection of wiring blocks and fuse related crap pretty cheap.
__________________
Tom Houston - Former Colorado Chapter President & Terminal Adrenaline Junkie
Loveland, Colorado
You're just jealous because the voices don't talk to you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 29th, 2004, 13:43
HodgePodge's Avatar
HodgePodge HodgePodge is offline
NAXJA Member #987
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 222
Re: Replace Fuseable Links with Fuses

Haha!!!!
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=263-133
There's a little bling action, too bad its only 4 fuses
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 29th, 2004, 17:33
mikeny59 mikeny59 is offline
NAXJA Member #300
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY and/or Fl.
Posts: 679
Try West Marine..

I live on Long Island, NY and get 95% of electrical stuff from there. They're a chain, high quality and great service, don't see why mail order should be any different. Search around the entire electrical section. Below is a nice twelve circuit block.


http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...roductId=91545

Mike #300
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installed TJ sway bar links on my 91 XJ Chris S Modified Tech Discussion 0 October 8th, 2004 14:21
HD drag links... Renegade Jpr Modified Tech Discussion 8 December 8th, 2003 20:28
replace the door?? asatxj OEM Tech Discussion 2 December 8th, 2003 09:38
Trying to Replace the Torque Shaft Bearing GoneSouth OEM Tech Discussion 2 September 26th, 2003 10:35


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NAXJA and NAXJA logo's Copyright NAXJA. All content/images Copyright NAXJA 1999-2014