NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > Modified Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

Modified Tech Discussion Forum for Tech related discussion for Modified XJ's and MJ's.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 26th, 2007, 12:18
splitz's Avatar
splitz splitz is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nola
Posts: 581
Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

I love switches, in fact that's why I got an ARB air compressor and locker! But there is a problem with mounting locations in the XJ. You could do what Fitch did, which was really cool, but if you have or want an overhead console, I suggest this:





Now this is an artistic rendering. There really are only 2 switches there now, but more will come. If you are thinking of doing this, and you have remote key-less entry, you'll have to relocate the circuit board that is inside of the overhead console (at least that is what I think it does)

The only problem I am having now is to figure out what to get more switches for, and finding the right switch and actuator to match the ARB (SPST 2 light switch V1DAJ66B, and blue lens actuators). If you know where I can find them, please let me know!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 26th, 2007, 12:22
IllianaXJ's Avatar
IllianaXJ IllianaXJ is offline
Support Your Local Trails
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southwest IN
Posts: 6,647
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

waytekwire.com -> switches -> Contura Rocker
__________________
MWC Vice President 2016-2020
1995 XJ Sport Mallcrawler build
2009 Chevrolet Suburban K2500 6.0L/6L90
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 26th, 2007, 12:24
splitz's Avatar
splitz splitz is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nola
Posts: 581
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

they don't list a SPST 2 light or the blue lense actuators. I may try and call them later tho.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 26th, 2007, 12:29
IllianaXJ's Avatar
IllianaXJ IllianaXJ is offline
Support Your Local Trails
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southwest IN
Posts: 6,647
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

I think ARB may have their switches custom made, but Waytek stocks the Contura style switch, which is what ARB uses. Can't hurt to call, but last time I tried to get something they didn't stock, they required an order of 100+.
__________________
MWC Vice President 2016-2020
1995 XJ Sport Mallcrawler build
2009 Chevrolet Suburban K2500 6.0L/6L90
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 26th, 2007, 12:31
splitz's Avatar
splitz splitz is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nola
Posts: 581
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

What only 100? Time for a....GROUP BUY
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 26th, 2007, 13:15
RCP Phx RCP Phx is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix,Az
Posts: 14,677
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

This is the manfacturer,they have all kinds of symbols/names
http://rocker-switches.carlingtech.c...switch__26.asp

Last edited by RCP Phx; December 26th, 2007 at 13:47.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 26th, 2007, 13:25
mecompco's Avatar
mecompco mecompco is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fairfield Maine
Posts: 651
Thumbs up Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Nice idea! Here's mine:



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 26th, 2007, 14:45
splitz's Avatar
splitz splitz is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nola
Posts: 581
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

RCP - Yeah, unfortunately I can't buy direct, so I have to call all of thier distributors to see if they carry V1DAJ66B.

mecompco - If I had a 96 or earlier, I'd proably do exactly the same thing. Nice install.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 26th, 2007, 14:50
cal's Avatar
cal cal is offline
NAXJA Warranty Voider
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hammertown, USA
Posts: 17,710
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Have you looked at these?



http://4x4mods.com/Product/Jeep/Rock...rswitch40.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 26th, 2007, 15:04
splitz's Avatar
splitz splitz is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nola
Posts: 581
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Yup. I'm anal. Everything has to match, and I like the way the V1DAJ66B look with the two lights and the blue rockers. Those are close, but they are Contura IIIs, so the texture pattern is different than the Contura II.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old December 26th, 2007, 15:05
mikedashg's Avatar
mikedashg mikedashg is offline
NAXJA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,116
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitz
Yup. I'm anal. Everything has to match, and I like the way the V1DAJ66B look with the two lights and the blue rockers. Those are close, but they are Contura IIIs, so the texture pattern is different than the Contura II.
I'm more of a contrast guy then matching (see sig/avatar)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 26th, 2007, 15:08
cal's Avatar
cal cal is offline
NAXJA Warranty Voider
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hammertown, USA
Posts: 17,710
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitz
Yup. I'm anal. Everything has to match, and I like the way the V1DAJ66B look with the two lights and the blue rockers. Those are close, but they are Contura IIIs, so the texture pattern is different than the Contura II.

I didn't notice that. 4x4mod used to offer both switch types, you may shoot them an email and see what they have to say.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 26th, 2007, 15:16
pierceME311's Avatar
pierceME311 pierceME311 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FL "the trailer park of the nation"
Posts: 391
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Quote:
Originally Posted by IllianaXJ
I think ARB may have their switches custom made, but Waytek stocks the Contura style switch, which is what ARB uses. Can't hurt to call, but last time I tried to get something they didn't stock, they required an order of 100+.
That too is my only gripe with waytek wire. I wanted to buy one of their tools to remove the rocker cover from the switch body itself and you have to order 3 of them, WTF? the switch bodies themselfs they don't have a minimum but the covers are 7 count minimum. They are high quality products though, and seem to be more geared to sell to the auto/earospace industry where they buy by the 10 thousands. I still order from them, and I do have extra of everything because I have to order so much extra to get what I want.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 27th, 2007, 10:02
xj4fun's Avatar
xj4fun xj4fun is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northeast
Posts: 298
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

After seeing the Carling Contura Rockers that ARB uses, I spent a fair amount of time researching Carling switches. They are available in LED versions with differing colors as well as a few differing actuator options. They tend to be hard to find, with Ebay being a fair source.

I got mine from a small vendor in Alaska. Remember you need both the switches and actuators verifying the switch configuration fits your desired application.

Outdated photo, but outlines the concept. This version was green 'running' LEDís, with orange non legend when closed (on). Current version is Contura IV green 'running' LEDís with red for Ďoní with legend actuators.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old December 27th, 2007, 10:08
xj4fun's Avatar
xj4fun xj4fun is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northeast
Posts: 298
Re: Where to mount switches? Answer inside!

Opps forgot to mention, the switches ARB uses are incandescent with a colored actuator. Certainly not an issue (I use them for my lockers), but I found the color options were greater with LED's. Additionally they will probably last a lot longer then the truck
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inside mount a 30" tire cheap Beast XJ01 Modified Tech Discussion 17 August 4th, 2007 07:28
new way to mount light switches check it out! smokeeaterXJ Modified Tech Discussion 15 December 23rd, 2006 10:40
where did you mount your switches??? Purple Modified Tech Discussion 21 July 20th, 2005 06:25
switches imma honky Non-Tech / Off Topic 3 June 22nd, 2004 03:47
switches mgt Modified Tech Discussion 32 June 14th, 2003 20:52


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NAXJA and NAXJA logo's Copyright NAXJA. All content/images Copyright NAXJA 1999-2014