• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Stubborn Misfire on 5

NewJeeper2020

NAXJA Forum User
I think I originally posted this in the wrong area, so let's try this!

Hey everybody!!

This is my first post here, and the first time I've posted anywhere about my Jeep! I am usually able to find a solution to the problem I'm facing, but this one is a bit of a doozy. I am by no means mechanically inclined and have been self-taught through several forums and Youtube, so if the answer is painfully obvious please tell me! This post may be a bit long, but I want to give you all the details I can. I have a 2001 Jeep Cherokee Classic, 4.0L, 180k miles, 160A upgraded alternator, Big 3 upgrade from JeepCables.com, new 4-hole injectors from a reputable source on eBay that I found through, and all other changes have been more cosmetic, new bracket for the center console, stuff like that. ANYWAY!

So the situation:

The jeep starts up just fine. It has a little bit of a rough idle whenever I come to a stoplight but nothing concerning where it's hesitating when I step on the gas again. Driving down the road is the same story; it handles beautifully, and it doesn't feel like anything is wrong. Once it gets up to operating temp and I come to an extended stop and put it in park, say like in the garage, and I'm talking on the phone with someone, I get the same rough idle I do at stoplights, but now I'm in park. Then after maybe 5-10 mins of idling and the tach is just barely bouncing directly under the second small hashmark, and without feeling anything buck or jump, the CEL comes on, and it reads as a cylinder 5 misfire (P0305).