• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rear brakes lock up WAY before fronts

robhurlburt

NAXJA Forum User
**uber noob here when it comes to drum brakes**

I know disks fairly well. Have done at least 10 pairs of them if not more, drums on the other hand....

'95 sport, auto, 155k

So i go to stop today after work and it sounds like i pulled the e-brake. I thought to myself that was weird, and sure enough i go to do it again and the rear wheels are draggin, and i am barely applying brake pressure. It was wet out, so it was super easy to hear. This must have been going on a while, because i always thought this car was really sketchy braking in the snow. Initially i thought i just wasn't used to not having ABS, but I am pretty sure its because the rear locks up and makes it squirly. I have had the car for a month or so, and the ebrake cable/handle doesn't move at all. I assume its rusted in there.

As i drove, it was less apparent. I actually have to slam on the brakes pretty good to get it to happen.

Any help here? I am not afraid to rip apart the drums, a DIY would be super helpful.

LOL, I missed that. Probably the brake lining absorbing moisture. Maybe switch to a better compound.

A leaky rear axle seal will let oil get on the brake shoes and cause premature lockup. If the brakes were recently apart, they PO could have swapped the leading and trailing shoes.

I've had a rusted e-brake cable cause drag on the brakes. Also had an XJ that the PO had installed the wrong e-brake cable causing constant slight drag on the brakes.
Use a Haynes and/or Chiltons manual to do the drum brakes. Get the special tool that helps deal with removing/replacing the little springs. It's usually not too bad.
hth, Doug

so this isn't normal? i didn't think so.