• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Again! Wanted...

5-90

NAXJA Forum User
I don't suppose anyone nearby happens to have Peugeot BA-10 in workin' order, or a cheap AX15 & NP231 input gear I could come get, do they?

This is now the THIRD Peugeot that's going out on me - the other two are in the scrap bin (blown synchronisers.) I know I'm a spirited driver, but this is nuts...

Mine now sounds like shaking a box of sledgehammers - started this morning. I change transmissions more often than I change clutches - what's up with that?

5-90

5-90 said:
NP231 input gear I could come get, do they?
5-90
What do mean by input gear of NP231, the main shaft ?

The Peugeot has one spline count (23, I think) and the AX-15 and NV3550 have another (probably 21. I may have those reversed.)

If I'm going to change transmissions, I'd need to change the input gear for the transfer case as well, so it will mate up (the mounting pattern is the same, just the input gear is different.)

If anyone has a Peugeot, it's a straight swap. If it's an AX-15, I'll have to swap input gears (I've got a spare NP231 anyhow, but it's another early one. I've also got an early NP242...) and make some sort of adapter to bolt the mount to the crossmember - but I'm perfecly willing to make something work until I can do it right (since I'm planning to do the conversion later anyhow...)

The long and short of it is, I'm just hoping it's got enough life left in it to let me get to replacing it - but the sooner, the better...