• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

disc conversion

badboys

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all I'm doing drums to disc conv. on my 93 cherokee. My problem is it's a 8 1/4 with 4:56 gears and locker and I have never worked on one before. HELP PLEASE.

if your question is about being able to take out the axle shafts, you have to drain the diff, pop the diff cover off, pull the c clips (a magnet works well), then you can take out the shafts... i assume it's a no-slip or other lunchbox style locker... for future reference when posting questions, follow through and ask a question, don't just say here's my vague problem. anything else? post it up.

So yeah, you'll pull the axles out, grind out the backing plates from the ZJ and bolt them in, install all the e-brake hardware, put the axles back in and refill the diff.

performance wise, how much does this noticably help? i'm sure the parts can't be that expensive from a junkyard..

My rears don't lock up as quick as they did with the drums. I run a 27" tire so I don't know about the woes of trying to stop bigger, heavier tires and steel wheels. I have a 96, which already has the dual diaphragm booster. I figure the people that do the swap and upgrade boosters will notice the differences more. I'm sure the discs don't fade as much as the drums, either. All in all, I feel it was worth the $150 it cost me to do the swap.

Mine stops better now on 35's then it ever did stock. And I have not upgraded the booster or used the zj prop valve. There is no fade that I could notice, and they self clean from mud very well. All the parts for mine came from a u pull it junk yard and cost me 48 dollars.