• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

another rust repair

rastein77

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 1989 Cherokee I have owned for 17 years and some of that time it sat for a few years. I got it down here to Texas from Ohio and I find rust issues with the sub frame rails. I'm posting this cause I am a complete novice at metal working and kinda feeling my way through it. I figure if its junk what is it going to hurt. As soon as I figure out how to post pics I will.

If it looks like that throughout I would start looking for another body. At a minimum you need to plate the frame from front to back on 3 sides and weld in new floor sheetmetal. My guess is this will look like the pix you posted through the whole belly, in which case it may be more work than it is worth.

i would start with another body. i made the mistake of repairing rust on my MJ and it turned out to be way more involved and take way too much time than its worth; and i only had one bad section and one floor to replace. it would be cost and time affective to just start over with a fresh rust free body

I'd have to agree; start with a new body. You can buy a rust free junker with a bad drivetrain for $500 or less if you're patient (at least in my area it's possible) and then just swap your good drivetrain over and be way ahead. You can repair all of the rusted areas you are seeing with your current body, but I would always be leery of rust that I haven't found yet. You may wind up playing an expensive game of whack-a-mole with rust. Heck I'm about to start over with a "new" body just because of some uni-rail damage that I don't want to deal with :laugh: