• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

high nox readings on emissions

xjblaine

NAXJA Forum User
Hey, my NOX reading on the chassis dyno at the emission place here in phoenix says I'm just a hair too high. I've failed three times:

acceptble is 4.50 g/mile
I've run 4.53, 4.63, 4.85....these were taken in order of the runs.

The last one was running premium gas.

So, the truck has failed worse each time, even after correcting and "uncorrecting" the same vaccum leaks. What's the deal? The dude at the testing center says EGR, and I'm not inclined to believe him since as he puts it so well "I'm not a mechanic." I figured I would get the opinions of actual jeep owners. What sayeth the readers of NAXJA forums? What do I need to fix to get this thing to pass?

I ran into the same problem last year in MD. I replaced the EGR, O2 sensor, and replaced the cat/exhaust system (needed it anyway). Than I passed. The guy up here said the same thing to me, EGR for NOX. They aren't that much money and worth replacing if you think it's suspect. Juice

sjx40250 said:
Did you try stock or equivalent spark plugs? If you are running premium plugs, they often cause the mixture to run lean.

just curious, why would plugs make it run lean?

It's got brand new splitfires in it, came with the truck as my cheapa$$ would not put the money into something like that. It's also on new wires, new cap an rotor, new oil, new airfilter, new fuel filter...what else... The cat is new, but I don't know about the O2 sensor, can I test the resistance to see if it's alright? How about testing the EGR valve, I know it can be done, but how should I do it?

I'd focus on the egr. It's purpose in life is to control NOX.

I'm at work and cant' help you on the test method other than recomend checking the vacuum lines.