• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

welding to unibody...

jjvande

NAXJA Forum User
hey, happy Holidays

so im the prowd owner of a new millermatic 175 mig welder. i'm new to mig, but i have tackled a few projects with a stick welder.

My question is: what sort of wire size, and settings do you gurus use to weld to the unibody? I'm thinking of boxing in some sections of the unibody to bolt skid plates too.

also, ive heard of using an argon/co2 mix for the gas, i was also told that you could use just CO2. The cost of CO2 is much less than argon...and the tanks are smaller...last longer. any experiences?

what do yo think?

Thans
-J

I used a Lincoln Weldpak 155 (220v) with .030" wire and CO2+Argon. The heat setting depended on the thickness of the material I was welding to the unibody. One key thing is to remove as much of the undercoating/seem sealer as possible. That stuff (even when it's on the otherside of the area you're welding in) will super-heat and blast through your puddle. Not only will it ruin your weld, but it hurts like hell.

When I was welding 3/16" plate to the unibody, I'd set the heat to 'E' (the highest setting) and keep the heat on the plate-side.

When welding unibody seems, I set the heat to 'D' (or even 'C') and kept the puddle moving.

I guess the best tip I could give would be to start with your machine set a little low, and increase the heat till it sounds/acts right. If you're going to be welding 1/8" (or less) to the unibody, I would consider .025" wire.

My $0.02