• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

needing more advice...

mmmMUD96xj

NAXJA Forum User
question of the day folks!!! without changing my Crusty's 4" lift, can i add this **1-3/4" Coil spring spacers with 1" greaseable shackles for your 1984-2001 Jeep XJ Cherokee** without changing my lift? and maybe get 32's or 33's to fit in there??? remember i'm a newb, so be nice if i'm asking a crazy question! and if i CAN do this... who's gonna join me for the install?? - plenty of beer here!!! :cheers:

maybe i should have titled this one "FREE BEER!!!!"

You'll also increase your angle on the front drivelive. Added 1 3/4" spacers to the coil springs. It's a can be a rough ride.

It would be cheaper to buy a sawzall. Trim the hell out of the fenders and 33's will fit on a 4 inch lift. I have 35's on a 4.5 inch lift with a 1 inch spacer totaling 5.5 inches. Backspacing on the wheels will make or break your fitment.

I have the pro comp 3 coils in the front and sky jacker 4 in springs in the back I installed tera flex's 1 3/4 spacer and 1 in shackle in the rear. The prodject was very easy and took probably 3 3 1/2 hours I however could not fit the stock 1/2 in. spacer back in the front. Mostly due to the lack of a good spring compressor. But I did notice that at full flex my lower control arm may bind up on its mount on the drop side.

I had a mild frontend chatter when on ruff or bumpy roads. So when I added the 1 3/4" spacer to the front it made it worst. For what I've read on here I would possibly also think about getting drop brackets for the control arms. Cheaper than going with a longarm setup. For tire size I run 285/75/16= 32/33's depending on tire company. I hope this helps your situation some.

mmmMUD96xj said:
backspacing on the wheels...?? what is that?