• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

93 XJ LIFT LIMITS WITHOUT SYE

j'ouvert93

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, I'm new on the forums and in the process lifting my jeep.
I have a 93 2dr xj 5spd the Chrysler 8.25 rear end and was wondering how high could I lift the vehicle b4 needing a DS and SYE.
I tried searching but nothing specific for my year, ideally I would like to raise the vehicle between 4.5 & 6.5 without the SYE and was looking at Rustys & Rough Country, I was told by both retailers all I would need are the shims & a transfer case drop.
Any comments or advice are welcome.

Thanks.

I would say you would want to stay around 3-3.5 inches with out a SYE. I have little experience with Rusty's, and none with Rough Country, but there has been lots said here. Try searching for either one. From what has been said I would avoid both of them, but that is me.

What size tires do you want to run, you should base your lift off of that.

With 6.5 inches, you will definitely need an SYE, shims and a t-case drop will not do anything.

With 4.5", shims and a t-case drop *May* work, its a crapshoot.

Since you have a pre 97 XJ, you have the internal slip yoke on the output of the transfer case. These are less prone to vibes then 97+, but 3.5 is generally the limit. It all depends though, everyone experiences different things.

Tire size, maybe 33 inches, did a few reviews on both kits the feedback wasn't that bad, but then that was googled.

At 5.5" it was almost undriveable with just shims. Pinion angle was great, but I think I lost a couple fillings from vibes at 30-40mph. Just get an SYE. Hack and Tap is $100, you can use a stock front shaft if you can't or don't want to put the money into a new CV drive shaft on the rear.