• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

what XJ to choose

waserwolf

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everybody, I'm new to the 4x4 thing but have ridden in my buddies 91 cherokee and would like to build one of my own, will be using it primarily as a huntin, fishin and campin vehicle. What year should i look for, r some better than others, have heard to go at least 91 and newer. Which year has the Dana rear axle? How much lift should i go with, which brand of lift, what size of tires? Looking at spending 5000 to 6000 can. dollars. Thanks for your response.

Just browse around the site a bit. There is a lot of info. On all the questions you asked.

Personally, I would opt for the years with the HO engine. They have the Chrysler computer. The Renix enignes have the Renault Bendix, the French computer system.

You can fit 31's easily on a 3" lift. Might have to trim a bit, but most don't. Id look for a distrubitor in Canada, shipping might be less for a lift and such. For a good driving tire, id reccomend a BFG MT or the SS Trxus MT's. Both are fairly aggresive, and offer long road life. Id look into an RE lift, or possibly an OME, for a great ride. Go with full leaf packs, too.

All years have the Dana axle, its wether the rig was optioned with the chrysler 8.25. Id look for one with an 8.25, HO, AW4, and a HP30 front. Good starting point for a rig, IMO.

My .02.