• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

need help with diagnosis

treedoc

NAXJA Forum User
Sorry if this post is quite long, just want to put up all info i can initially...

I am the third owner of a '93 4wd, 4.0, 5 spd, 170k, 30 front, 8.25 rear, 3" tomken lift, 235/75/15's, VENT WINDOWS!. I am no mechanic, but i love this dark green beauty, and want to learn and heal her up myself.

engine is underpowered. runs and idles good, but weak, with some white smoke. I know that the lift and slightly bigger rubber is going to slow me down a bit, but 4th gear is needed to maintain 65-70mph on any kind of hill. loaded fairly heavy west of denver on 70, top speed 35mph.
running 89 and shell high test, alternately.
passed emissions with flying colors
-the oil had not been changed as regularly as it should, but gets 10w30 every 3k now.
-new rotor, cap, button,wires and plugs(which show consistent but modest ash deposit after 3000mi, scraped off and reinstalled.)
-new o2 sensor.
-new fuel filter
-new air filter, venturi ripped out, throttle body cleaned. body and hose snug.
-seafoamed via the fuel pressure regulator vacuum line. most of a can and she would not die, had to shut it down to soak. ran a can with 5 gal fuel through fuel tank, 1/3 can in oil for afew days before last change.
with the seafoam substantial smoke appeared from exhaust manifold area, cannot visually locate obvious crack(or really hear anything to indicate the crack is more than hairline).
-pulled codes, got #36, air switch solenoid circuit(whatever that is)
-rear ccv valve is completely clogged, line is missing, vacuum port on intake is plugged.
-a bit of oil is blowing onto filter from ccv clean air line.
fuel pump "whining" after sustained interstate speeds.