NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > Modified Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

Modified Tech Discussion Forum for Tech related discussion for Modified XJ's and MJ's.

Old November 1st, 2018, 11:09
NAXJA Forum User

transmission and power steering inline filters

Hello

For my 1990 XJ, I am considering both an inline power steering fluid filter and transmission ATF filter.

Is this a good idea, or foolish ie can cause trouble with failure, low flow etc...?

I am new to cars with automatics, and powersteering, so I am clueless as to the adviseability of inline filters for these systems. What seems like a good idea may not be sometimes.

I have read reviews of some inline steering filters and found reports that some have failed and blew out. If a filter is a good idea, which brand is a good one, one that it not prone to fail, leak, clog rapidly, etc...

My power steering pump and gear box will be brand new. I do have a two pass tube type cooler mounted in front of radiator for the steering.

For the tranny, I have a plate type cooler.

So what is the advice for adding inline filters to these two systems? Which brands filters are advised, if any?

Thank you
Old November 1st, 2018, 11:20
NAXJA Forum User

Re: transmission and power steering inline filters

The trans filter already built into it is fine, as far as the PS goes a good filter that can handle the flow rate and fine enough(microns) won't come cheap.
Old November 1st, 2018, 12:24
NAXJA Member