• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Is it safe to press in a leaf spring bushing with a C-Clamp?

Warploxx

NAXJA Forum User
Someone beat this truck before i bought it because the suspension is in desperate need of repairs. I've taken the broken leaf springs out and bought new springs, shackles and bushings. Since this is my first time doing this I've read a bit on this site about replacing them. Putting them in the freezer, using a little lube and a BFH. None of witch i have access to accept the freezer. So I'm wondering if some regular grease and a C-Clap will work without breaking anything.

Last edited:
I think it could be done with a good C-clamp, but you will need some sort of receiving cup for the back side and a good way to distribute pressure on the front side. The bushing is wider than the leaf spring. It needs to be centered with something like 3/16" or 1/4" extending beyond each side of the leaf spring.

Also note that a "good C-clamp" will have Acme threads. Look them up if you are not familiar with them. You should also notice that these are the type of threads used in vises too. I have noticed that there are some cheap C-clamps being made with V-shaped threads. I don't know who is smoking what, but that is not a good product.

Your best bet might be to see if you have an auto parts store that will rent you a ball joint press. You will have to see if that has a receiving cup of the correct diameter, but it should at least have a good C-clamp.

As to a lubricant, white lithium grease is generally my first choice.

And you should ask for a good BFH for Christmas. No one should be without such a basic, multi-purpose tool. At least, not in America.