• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Articulation

Dwdjr 68

NAXJA Forum User
Hey folks I'm fairly new to the xj world, coming from the 4runner platform, what are you guys doing up front to get great flex and stay planted? I understand the rear also plays a part but I'm familiar with what I need to do there. Any help/ suggestions are much appreciated.

Black magic and sorcery! JK Long arms, trimming and proper bumps stops.....

What do you want your rig to do? What size rubbers? What are you going to do in the rear?

I want the rig to stay planted, I will need plenty of flex front and rear as most of my wheeling will be on steep grades with ruts, stairsteps, and rock gardens. The xj I just recently got is already trimmed, up leafs in rear, short arms up front, apparently a budget lift with 35s. For the rear I'm looking at double triangulated setup. For the front I'm looking at dual rate coils from metalcloak, Iro long arm rock kit or clayton 3 link. As far as bumpstops it doesn't have any so I will need to address this immediately.

Gotcha, are you going to fab the rear 4 link?Are you swapping axles? What year? Pics?

Cloak coils and iro rock link work well in my rig. Jus need better shocks.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

No pics right now as I'm in the process of doing frame stiffeners, track bar, and regular maintenance work. It's a 98, I have the 8.25 rear 30 front. I eventually may go to ton axles and 40" tires but not anytime soon. The plan is to find an 8.8 rear with lsd so I get the traction device and disk brakes all in one. What shocks are ya'll running?

The way your talking a 8.8 not in your menu and the factory limited slip isn't worth anything. Either stick with the 8.25 and build on that or do your other option further down the road.