• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

87" Cherokee Chief Question

IRONBULL

NAXJA Forum User
Hey XJ'ers, I just got me a "free" 87 XJ, (with a 2-8 no less
sick.gif
). But it does have an AX15 tranny.

And since I've lost the site I used to got to see specs on all the manual trannys produced, and since the Chevy pick-ups came with T-5s, I was considering swapping the AX15 for the WC T-5 outta my old 88 Turbocoupe. (Gears are pretty close)

Now, I don't know the imput/output spline numbers, or if AX15s are as strong as WC T-5s, and even need to be swapped.

So as a newbie, I thought I'd come to the source and get some real answers from the pros. Thanx guys.

Also I plan to junk the Dana 30 for a 40 out of a newer XJ, drop in 4.56s in the rear, along with 4.5in lift with 33X12.5X15's. (Is that even enuff lift :confused: )

Any feedback is appreciated:patriot:

Also I plan to junk the Dana 30 for a 40 out of a newer XJ, drop in 4.56s in the rear, along with 4.5in lift with 33X12.5X15's. (Is that even enuff lift )

Okay a couple questions here

1 What Dana 40 in newer XJs????

2. Why not go on down to 488 if your regearing the front and rear??

And now just a comment I have 2 Xjs with the 2.8 and one of them goes 1000 miles a week and have never had to touch the engine and it is stock and I have wheeled the shit out of it on some local trails...:D

I am not an expert on this issue, but I do not think a T-5 will fit. The reason being that a T-5 is right now behind my 2.5 lt engine, and as far as I know (and I could be wrong) the T-5 and AX-15 boxes do not share the same bellhousing patterns.

Eagle is the expert on these issues around here, hope he pops in.

Rgds

I'm skeptical about an 87 with a 2.8. 87 was the first year of the 4.0, which replaced the 2.8.