• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Engine Designed for Long Distance

AlabamaDan

NAXJA Forum User
It's time for a new motor in my XJ. For a while I was drawn in by the idea of a stroker and the power....but before I bit the bullet cooler thoughts came into my thoughts. Besides, it's not a race car and a lack of power isn't why I'm rebuilding now. But rather than go stock, is there a formula to have better fuel economy.

I'm not asking just because gas is hitting $4/gal but also for extending the range of a tank of gas. If I get 15mpg and a 20gal tank that's 300 miles. If I get 25mpg and a 20gal tank that's 500 miles. There's a big difference and I like that idea better.

So, anyone ever build a more fuel efficient 4.0?

I'm by no means an expert on AMC/Jeep engines, but typically, a lot of the same techniques that get you more power also get you more fuel economy. Concentrate on breathing - head porting, bigger valves if possible, ported intake, better exhaust. Higher compression will also help economy but may make you go to premium fuel which will hurt your wallet. The things that are typical go-fast tricks that will hurt your economy are the obvious ones like more displacement, longer-duration camshafts, etc.

If you want every last little bit of efficiency, does anyone make a mild-grind roller cam which could be combined with roller rockers? Gains might be minimal, but then you could cut the top off a valve cover and put a Plexiglas panel on it so everyone could admire your awesomeness.

good luck!

With a stroker, you will use less throttle and potentially get better gas mileage.

I get 17 mpg on the highway, with an exo cage, 37's and a stroker.

less throttle generally does equal better gas mileage. less air going into the engine = less fuel going in, too.