• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

thrust bearing failure

Rockhound

NAXJA Forum User
after chasing a gremlin for 2 weeks i have done a ton of research and think i may have an answer. failed thrust bearing. the question is why? i had an oil issue that could potentially be the culprit, but it could have been the torque converter. either way she sounds like hell when you turn it over with the starter, and you can't turn it over by hand.
i have been planning to take it to the shop today and let them deal with it. there is enough blood from my knuckles all over the thing for it to be kin. can anyone tell me what i could expect in the realm of replacement? i have never built an engine before so i have no clue how to replace it, or what all is involved. what i do know is i can get a used 4.0 from salvage for $450 warranteed for a year or 12k miles. please help me out before i tow this thing to the shop. TIA
Jon

Rockhound said:
after chasing a gremlin for 2 weeks i have done a ton of research and think i may have an answer. failed thrust bearing. the question is why? i had an oil issue that could potentially be the culprit, but it could have been the torque converter. either way she sounds like hell when you turn it over with the starter, and you can't turn it over by hand.
i have been planning to take it to the shop today and let them deal with it. there is enough blood from my knuckles all over the thing for it to be kin. can anyone tell me what i could expect in the realm of replacement? i have never built an engine before so i have no clue how to replace it, or what all is involved. what i do know is i can get a used 4.0 from salvage for $450 warranteed for a year or 12k miles. please help me out before i tow this thing to the shop. TIA
Jon