• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

auto to manual swap

89HEEP

NAXJA Forum User
hey guys...i think this is my first time posting on this site...and i have an 89 jeep xj, 4.0l aw4, 231 t-case...and im wondering what exactly i will have to go through to switch my jeep over to a 5spd manual....i HATE auto's...dont ask just always have...and have a 5 spd trans and t-case i can get from a 91 jeep that was hooked up to a 4.0....soo...has anyone done this swap...how hard is it?? thanks any help much appreciated.

PS..i know the obvious things...like cutting in a hole for the clutch pedal and what not...im really just worried about wiring harnesses and sensors and such that i'll need to make sure to get...this is why i asked if ne body has done this...had the problems...know the answers...etc...??HELP

89HEEP said:
hey guys...i think this is my first time posting on this site...and i have an 89 jeep xj, 4.0l aw4, 231 t-case...and im wondering what exactly i will have to go through to switch my jeep over to a 5spd manual....i HATE auto's...dont ask just always have...and have a 5 spd trans and t-case i can get from a 91 jeep that was hooked up to a 4.0....soo...has anyone done this swap...how hard is it?? thanks any help much appreciated.

PS..i know the obvious things...like cutting in a hole for the clutch pedal and what not...im really just worried about wiring harnesses and sensors and such that i'll need to make sure to get...this is why i asked if ne body has done this...had the problems...know the answers...etc...??HELP