• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

relocation the lower control arm mounts on the axle to the top of the axle?

ericfx1984

NAXJA Forum User
relocation the lower control arm mounts on the axle to the top of the axle?

I have been searching and can not find anything about doing this...

it seems like a great idea and it would be way better than drop brackets

youll have to relocate the uppers higher to maintain proper geometry correct? im no expert, but thatd be my thinking.

youde be better off welding mini skids to the LCA axle side mounts and going with drop brackets or long arms. (again, im no expert)

You would have to draw up some CAD models and try to see if you can get it to work. I don't see it going very well though.

It's a good idea, thought about that myself.

My guess as to why it isn't done is that there's not enough room (atleast with the size lifts we typically work with) for the upper mount to be raised).

Awaiting others responses.

Explanation?

it will really jack up the link geometry... plug the numbers into a link calculator and look at your results.... it would probably just give you a BSOD for even asking:roflmao:

Axle wrap.

+2, I think axle wrap would be a huge issue with the LCA on top of the axle. I think it would be too much stress on the LCA mount to have all the weight on top. instead of having it mount at the top or the bottom why not mount it in the middle? then raise the UCA's up. IDK just brain storming.

Its not axle wrap exactly since the axle shouldnt be able to rotate too much if you have good joints and bushings.

The first problem would be messing with your instant center by bringing it above center and in turn would completely screw your antisquat numbers.