• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

OBDII Error: P0455 - 455 A large leak has been detected in the evaporative system...?

xL8 APEKSx

NAXJA Forum User
Hey gang,

Borrowed a code reader from the local AutoZone and found only one code: P0455 - EVAP Emission Control System Leak (Large).

Any ideas on what I should look for under the hood? What do you think needs to be replaced? Any ideas would be helpful. I'm very new to this vehicle/engine. Thanks!

Re: OBDII Error: P0455 - 455 A large leak has been detected in the evaporative system...?

Check your gas cap.

hey i work at an independent repair shop and see quite a few jeeps esspecially newer xj's come in with evap leaks. If you know someone who has access to a snap on scanner you can force it to run the evap test if you have the jeep software. this is very helpful to know if its fixed.

first off have you filled up the car with gas with the engine running? that can cause a major leak fault. if the answer to that is no which it probably is then in my expirence with xj's there are 4 things that i see regularly on xj's setting evap leak faults. the first is the purge valve it up near the right shock tower on a bracket. the next is the ldp pump its a big round thing next to the purge valve. the vent tends to stick open on these. I have had 3 97 and newer xj's have a major leak fault to find out the ldp pump is leaking then run the test and have a minor leak fault caused by the purge valve. On a few others i have seen the evap hoses by the test port crack. Also check the evap hose at the canister underneath the truck.

those are the normals.