• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need Advice on Possible Purchase

truckeejeeper

NAXJA Forum User
Hi - So I'm looking at picking up this 1993 5 speed. Mine is just rusting away. I hate paying this much but prices are up for unmodified, no rust, 5 speed manuals. Hard to find. My worry is, it seems to be missing the "sport" and "4x4" logos. Which means it may have just been repainted. Which means it may be hiding..rust? I don't konw much about bodywork. But it is the one thing making me hesitate on this purchase.

Anyone got an opinion on this? It is at a used car dealer. Any other tips/thing to look for. I've been driving a 1991 Sport 5 speed, 4x4 for 20 years, fyi. Thx much.

- TJ

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/cto/d/fremont-1993-jeep-cherokee-40l-5speed/7476004492.html

She's definitely a re-spray, look at that orange peel on the back hatch close up. Pull up the carpet in the rear cargo area, that should give you an idea on actual rust, but im going to guess it was probably just re-sprayed to get rid of the flaking clear coat. The unpainted factory wheels don't look like they have any corrosion so it's probably mint. The price is a little high for the Midwest, but it seems pretty damn low for the coast!

Ya ok, thought so. It just makes me a bit more apprehensive, as original paint means it was probably garaged for most of it's life. So I guess I'll have to dig deeper, under carpets etc. Garaged is always better around here, for everything on the XJ. Hm...

Any other opinions/thoughts are welcome

thx - TJ

Crawl underneath it and give it a thorough inspections. Look at the under body, the leafs, the axles. I do a under body inspection on any used vehicle I buy.